The Future is Now

Well…

it’s been quite a while since I updated this site, and quite a bit has happened in that. My short story was rejected for being “too predictable,” despite “some wonderful writing.” A mixture of disappointment and abject sadness struck me, but ultimately I felt relieved. Throughout the months after submitting my short story I had suffered anxiety attacks and frequently despaired over (as dramatic as it may be) my own mortality and the likelihood that I would leave a lasting legacy on the Earth. When I received that email, which was much kinder with its rejection than I had ancticipated, I found solace in knowing that reality was no worse than my worst, most anxious expectations, and reveled in the fact that I had been awarded a compliment at all. But after another week or so, I came to a new, more liberating realization, one that I had thought of as nothing more than a common platitude before– contrary to being dissuaded by rejection, I was fired up by it. I felt twice as motivated to find an outlet for my passion. And thanks to that rejection, I made some revisions to the story and set upon a path that I had always dreamed of but had not seriously pursued…

Thanks to some motivation from a friend (Danny Djeljosevic, co-founder of Loser City and an amazingly talented writer) I contacted Diana Naneva, a truly phenomenal artist who Danny had worked with previously, and together we’re creating something new, something cool, and something I’m immensely proud of.

I’ll be revealing more information about the project soon, so please look forward to that!

Leave a Reply

